top of page

Waltzing back


I totally understand I'm waltzing back in here as if I haven't been gone for about 10 years, but lets just skip to the chase and get on with it...

Without pouring a load of excuses over you, the truth is, I've been very busy lately, I lost my excitement for writing in the crazy rush of September and abandoned my little blog for a while. Third year has well and truly kicked in; I moved into my new house in Liverpool - my room is, like I mentioned in the Summer, full of plants and fairy lights - a true uni students' dream. I've played a prostitute in my first third year show, Roberto Zucco, directed by the most incredible woman, Susan Lynch. Meeting and befriending this creative genius was a real highlight of 2016 for me! Christmas has been and gone, and it was absolutely lovely. And I'm now in the awkward little period where the year hasn't ended, but I'm still grazing on leftover Christmas treats and sipping from the too many bottles of Shloer - a favourite non alcoholic drink of mine.

This might actually turn out to be a collection of my final thoughts about 2016, a very brief year overview, some might call it. Obviously 2016 hasn't been the best year for politics and celebrity liveliness; I'm trying to think of a positive way to make that point seem a little less shit, but really it has just been shit at times. But I guess we can individually make our own ways to develop ourselves and find new ways to live and love in the new year. I'm still not sure I believe in the whole 'new year new me' saying that pops up at the end of every year, but it's a nice thought to have, a kind of redeeming sense of cleaning ourselves up ready for a new year.

So I'll leave you with this, whether or not you believe in the whole 'new year new me' thing, I find it somewhat comforting that a new year is waiting upon us. We'll wake up on the 1st January 2017, the world won't look different, we won't feel different, but I guess it's a chance for new opportunities. I certainly don't know what I'll be doing or where I'll be this time next year, and that to me is very exciting.


bottom of page